Anti-personnel mines and cluster munitions

The Ottawa Convention or the Treaty on the prohibition of anti-personnel mines was ratified by Sweden in 1998.

Convention on cluster munitions was signed by Sweden in December 2008. Both conventions say that states which have signed and ratified the Treaty shall cease to produce, trade and use anti-personnel mines and cluster munitions. They are also required to destroy their stocks of anti-personnel mines within a period of four years from the date of signing the Treaty. For cluster weapons the timeframe is eight years from the time the Treaty was signed.

The Council on Ethics continuously monitors this area and a small number of companies at the moment might be linked to violation of one of the two conventions. The Council on Ethics has in previous years suggested the AP Funds to divest their holdings in companies that manufacture anti-personnel mines or cluster munitions, and none of the funds have currently holding in any such companies.