Nuclear weapons

The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (Non-Proliferation Treaty, NTP) is a treaty of 1970 which aims to prevent the spread of technology and knowledge to produce nuclear weapons and that in accordance with Article XI:3 of the Treaty allows the States, which before January 1, 1967 possessed nuclear weapons – China, France, Russia, Britain and the United States – to maintain them within the conditions imposed by the Treaty.

Treaty treats besides nonproliferation also disarmament and peaceful uses of nuclear energy. Article VI of the Treaty deals with disarmament, and it commits all states that signed the Treaty to carry out negotiations in order to achieve effective measures to end the nuclear arms race, nuclear disarmament and a treaty on general and complete disarmament under strict and effective international control.

The Treaty was signed by 190 states, including Sweden. Signatories agree thus that the five states maintain and continuously upgrade systems around nuclear weapons, to ensure their proper functioning.

The Council on Ethics may find that a small number of companies, in which the AP Funds have invested, in various ways are involved in the maintenance and updating of any of these five countries’ nuclear weapons systems. The fact that Sweden has signed and ratified the treaty on non-proliferation, the Council on Ethics considers the type of activity companies conduct to be within the framework of what the treaty allows.

The Council on Ethics is actively following the developments around and both the domestic and the international discussion on the Non-Proliferation Treaty.